Oakley Riders Take Top Honors at TransWorld SNOWboarding Rider’s Poll Awards


Snowboarding’s biggest stars stormed the The Fillmore Auditorium in Denver, CO for the 13th Annual TransWorld SNOWboarding Riders’ Poll Awards. Among the legendary cast of presenters were Oakley’s own super stars Terje Haakonsen and Danny Kass.

Bringing home top honors for the Oakley team was Mark McMorris who won the Men’s Rookie of the Year award, Jake Blauvelt who took the inaugural Online Video Project of the Year award for his five-part web series Naturally and Torstein Horgmo who rallied the support of TransWorld SNOWboarding readers to claim the Men’s No. 1 Readers’ Choice Award.

There was tough competition in all of the categories, which made for a spectacular evening in celebration of the best in the sport.

Winners of the Riders’ Poll Awards were selected by polling more than 100 professional snowboarders worldwide, with the Reader’s Choice awards determined solely by votes from the thousands of TransWorld SNOWboarding readers.

For complete results and more details from the event check out www.snowboarding.transworld.net, but before you do watch Jake give his moving acceptance speech and listen as he talks to TransWorld SNOWboarding’s associate editor Ben Gavelda about last season and his exciting plans for this season:


Elishia Matta


January 27, 2012

Related Photos